PRINCETON UNIVERSITY

Princeton Athens Center

Friday, June 11, 2021

"Broadcasting Greek Modernism explores the interrelations between Greek modernist writers and radio broadcasting in the period roughly between the late 1930s, when the Greek state radio was founded, and the mid-1960s, when the advent of television in Greece displaced radio as the primary form of domestic entertainment. The purpose of this workshop is to provide the basis for discussion of radio as an integral part of the history of Greek literary modernism, addressing a range topics, such as the radio work of canonical modernists, the transnational literary networks formed behind the microphone, and the importance of radio as a site of creative experimentation."

Convener: Fiona Antonelaki, Hannah Seeger Davis Postdoctoral Research Fellow.

The workshop will be held via Zoom.

Each presentation slot will last for 25 minutes, including a 15 minute talk and 10 minute Q&A.

Conference logistics are meant to accommodate participants and attendees across different time zones, from Greece to the United States and Canada.

PROGRAM
11:00 EDT = 18:00 Athens
Emmanuela Kantzia (Pierce College—The American College of Greece)
“Demetrios Capetanakis as a Spokesman of Greece in England, 1941-1944”

11:25 EDT = 18:25 Athens
Fiona Antonelaki (Princeton University)
“The Chaps in London: Transnational Literary Networks and Modernist Aesthetics at the BBC Greek Section, 1945-1950”

TEN MINUTE BREAK

12:00 EDT = 19:00 Athens
Anna-Maria Sichani (University of Sussex)
“Greek Modernism in the Air: The Literary Broadcasts of the Hellenic National Radio Foundation (EIR) and the Emergence of New Sonic Regimes”

12:25 EDT = 19:25 Athens
Elena Kamilari (University of Athens)
“Modernism in Radio Drama: Vassilis Ziogas' Adaptation of Samuel Beckett’s Krapp’s Last Tape for the Hellenic National Radio Foundation (1961)”

12:50 EDT = 19:50 Athens
Closing remarks

Speaker(s)
Share